Tags

, , ,

Had dinner with the parents last night. It went well- meaning nothing crazy happened. The plan was to have my daughter set the parental controls on their TV- to hopefully prevent my mom from ordering another season of major league baseball.

The remote control makes my mom very angry. I totally get it. It’s small, the buttons have tiny writing on them, the writing is white on black- making it even more difficult for older eyes to see. It’s even hard for older hands to hold. My parents remember simple days of turning knobs. Or of big cumbersome remotes with no more than 12 buttons. It’s a bit like Elf, but without all the cute and funny. And there isn’t a friendly narwhal. They live in a world designed for younger people. And it gets harder for them to navigate each day. As their mental and physical capacities continue to decline, the world continues to speed ahead.

 

